Summer Racing Carnival 2016/17 | UBET
To help you make a selection or confirm your choice, UBET will provide key stats on all Group 1 races and many other major events throughout the year.
UBET Racing Stats provide vital information in key areas such lead-up form, winning profile, betting, barriers, jockeys, trainers, weights and general facts about a particular race. It is designed to ensure you’re better-informed when putting ‘some skin in the game’.
Recent race trends will be reviewed, along with past race history, jockey and trainer performances in the particular event, best barriers etc.
UBET Racing Stats are just another way to stay 'ahead of the game'.


  • All 33 winners since 1983 have come via group racing. Ten won their previous start, while another 14 were placed.
  • Five of the last eight winners of this event have come out of the Group 1 Railway Stakes. The last horse to complete the Railway Stakes/Kingston Town Classic double was Sniper’s Bullet (2009).
  • The WA Guineas has also provided the winner four times, with Ihtsahymn the last to complete the double in 2013.
  • The West Australian Derby, Strickland Stakes and Prince Of Wales have also been used as lead ups.


  • In the last 33 editions, 12 three-year-olds have been successful, the last being Perfect Reflection in 2015.
  • Four-year-olds also have a good record with eight winners in the last three decades, the latest being Playing God in 2011. Six 5YO’s have saluted, the last being Luckygray (2012), while seven 6YO’s or older have taken the honours, with Moriarty the most recent (2014) when winning as a 7YO.
  • Female winners are scarce with only 4 in the last 33 years, the most recent Perfect Reflection in 2015 who is also the only 3YO filly to have won in that period.
  • Geldings have dominated with 19 winners, including 12 of the last 16. Ten colts or entires have saluted in the last three decades, the most recent being Playing God in 2011.


  • Favourites have a fair record with equal favourites or outright favourites winning 11 times since 1983 – Perfect Reflection ($4.40) was the latest in 2015.
  • 25 winners since 1983, including nine of the last ten, have started at single figure odds.
  • There have only been three odds-on favourites in 32 editions since 1983, with Vo Rogue ($1.55) winning in 1988. Umrum (2000) and Hardrada (2002) both got rolled.
  • There have been several blow outs over the past three decades including; Playing God ($21) in 2011, Early Express ($21) in 2005, True Steel ($26) in 2003, Blevvo ($26) in 2002, Island Morn ($21) in 1994 and Bar Landy ($34) in 1990.


  • Inside barriers are an advantage with 22 of 33 winners since 1983 starting from inside gate 10.
  • Ironically, barrier 10 is the most successful, producing five winners, with gates 2 & 7 next best with four victories each.
  • No horse has been successful from barrier 11 or 15 in the last three decades.
  • The last horse to win from the outside draw was Sniper’s Bullet (16/16) in 2009.
  • The most recent winner from the coveted inside stall was Moriarty in 2014.


  • Local Paul Harvey 22: 4-0-2 has the best returns, while Steven Parnham 11: 3-1-0 and Shaun O’Donnell 14: 2-2-0 also have good records.
  • Of the interstate raiders, Brad Rawiller 4: 2-0-0 and Damien Oliver have tasted success 7: 1-2-0.
  • For other quality riders, the event has proven elusive; Daniel Staeck 10: 0-2-0, Pat Carbery 13: 0-1-1, Troy Turner 14: 0-1-0, Jason Brown 17: 0-0-1 and Jarrad Noske 5: 0-0-0.


  • David Hayes has won this event three times in the last three decades with Niconero in 2006 & 2008, as well as the great Better Loosen Up in 1989. His overall record is 13: 3-0-1
  • Neville Parnham 22: 2-1-3, Robert Taylor 3: 2-0-1, Noel Lamey 2: 2-0-0, Lou Luciano 8: 1-2-1, Trevor Andrews 6:1-1-1, Tracey Bartley 2: 1-0-1, Grant Williams 16: 1-3-1, Chris Waller 2: 1-0-0 and Fred Kersley 11: 1-0-0.
  • For some well-known trainers, this race has delivered little joy –, Adam Durrant 13: 0-1-0, John Thompson 2: 0-0-1 and Mike Moroney 2: 0-0-0.


  • This is an 1800m race at WFA which began in 1976. It has endured a number of name changes, but in 2007 the WATC opted to call it the Kingston Town Classic in honour of the champion racehorse who won the 1982 edition.
  • Gallopers that have won the Railway/Kingston Town double include; Sniper’s Bullet (2009), Modem (2004), Old Comrade (2001) and Better Loosen Up (1989).
  • It is the final Group 1 of the calendar year.
  • The honour roll includes; Luckygray (2012), Playing God (2010/11), Niconero (2006/2008), Summer Beau (1996/97), Better Loosen Up (1989), Vo Rogue (1988), Bounty Hawk (1983), Kingston Town (1982), Sovereign Red (1980) and Family Of Man (1976/78).