MLB | Baseball | UBET

The Major League World Series baseball tournament is coming to a thrilling conclusion between the Cubs of Chicago and the Cleveland Indians. The Indians head into Game VII after failing to knock off the Cubs in Game V and Game VI. The worrying sign for the Indians is the way they allowed Chicago to strangle them in the opening three innings of the last game they played.

The 1979 Pittsburgh Pirates was the last team to comeback from a 3-1 deficit to win the World Series and the Indians will be desperate to avoid falling victim to this year’s Cubs. Chicago seemed to be clinging to life by the skin of their teeth after somehow coming back to beat Cleveland 3-2 in Game V but were comprehensive winners in the last match they played, winning 9-3.


The Cubs were majorly disappointing in the first bunch of games but have found a way to win, and win well! The rip roaring start to Game VI will have given the franchise enormous hope of turning around their disappointing series beginning. On the flipside to the comprehensive win over Cleveland was the way they finished that match, as the Cubs seemingly packed up their gear after three innings, allowing the Indians to score three late runs before they scored two in the ninth.

History is on the side of Cleveland since no team over the last 37 years has won a World Series 4-3 after trailing 3-1. But if they are to secure the 2016 title, the Indians will need to turn things around, and quickly. Game VI was lost in the third inning when Addison Russell hit a grand slam in the third innings to give his side an unassailable 7-0 lead. The only positive the Indians can take out of that loss is the fact they finished admirably, outscoring the Cubs 3-2 in the last six innings.

  • Chicago was victorious in a league-best 103 games during the regular season.
  • Only the New York Yankees (1998 and 2009) have achieved 100+ regular season wins and gone on to win the World Series.
  • The Indians have not lost three straight matches at any stage this season.
  • Addison Russell’s grand slam was the first since 2005 and Chicago’s first ever in a World Series.

Cleveland’s batting starters: Carlos Santana, Jason Kipinis, Francisco Lindor, Mike Napoli, Jose Ramirez, Lonnie Chisenhall, Juan Uribe, Tyler Naquin, Roberto Perez.

Chicago’s batting starters: Dexter Fowler, Kris Bryant, Anthony Rizzo, Addison Russell, Jason Heyward, David Ross, Jon Lester.

Indians v Cubs | MLB | UBET