MLB | Baseball | UBET

Baseball fans across the world have plenty of reason to rejoice as either the Cleveland Indians or Chicago Cubs prepare to break 176 years’ worth of MLB pain. The World Series tees off at Cleveland’s Progressive Field after a long regular season that yielded the Cubs more than 100 regular season victories, giving them the early, yet slight, favouritism tag with UBET.

The drought that had previously taunted Cleveland prior to NBA’s Cavaliers reigning supreme last season is once again the talk of the town. The Indians are going through a horror 68-year period without a World Series title, while things are even more grim (but will be so much sweeter if they win) for Chicago, who have gone more than a whole century without baseball’s biggest prize.


No matter which way you look at it, the winner of this year’s World Series will go down in history, and possibly baseball folklore. The Chicago Cubs and Cleveland Indians are the two teams in the competition that are going through significant championship droughts but one will finally welcome the rain very soon. In possibly a positive omen for Cleveland fans, the NBA champion Cavs will receive their rings next door to the Game I venue just an hour before the game’s first pitch.

Combined, the Cubs and Indians have gone a whopping 176 years without a title (Chicago 108 years and Cleveland 68)! Cleveland was a city without any major sporting title prior to the Cavs’ historic NBA crown since the Browns won the NFL way back in 1964, while Chicago has been starved of success ever since arguably the greatest athlete of all-time, Michael Jordan called time on his career. If we are going to compare codes, Chicago’s Bulls and Cleveland’s Cavaliers have met in the NBA playoffs seven times with the Bulls winning five to the Cavs’ two.

  • The Indians are 11-0 this year when relievers Bryan Shaw, Andrew Miller, and Cody Allen all appear in a game.
  • Chicago was victorious in a league-best 103 games during the regular season.
  • Only the Yankees (1998 and 2009) have achieved 100+ regular season wins and gone on to win the World Series.
  • The Indians have not lost three straight matches all season, making the Cubs chances of a sweep more remote.

Cleveland’s batting starters: Carlos Santana, Jason Kipinis, Francisco Lindor, Mike Napoli, Jose Ramirez, Lonnie Chisenhall, Juan Uribe, Tyler Naquin, Roberto Perez.

Chicago’s batting starters: Dexter Fowler, Kris Bryant, Anthony Rizzo, Addison Russell, Jason Heyward, David Ross, Jon Lester.

Indians v Cubs | MLB | UBET